Skip to content
CRAFT Challenger 300 N971MC on the ramp under a cloudy sky

Ownership Cost

Wheels Up vs CRAFT: Membership, Jet Card and Availability

Wheels Up vs CRAFT: how a Wheels Up Signature Membership and the CRAFT Fleet Jet Card are priced, what each guarantees, and how to compare them like for like.

Israel SlodowitzFounder & CEOUpdated October 4, 2026 · Published January 15, 2026 · 3 min read
A CRAFT Challenger on the ramp

Wheels Up and CRAFT both fly people privately who don't want to own an aircraft, and they are built differently. Wheels Up sells memberships on its own fleet and a marketplace of partner aircraft. CRAFT operates five Challenger 300 and 350 aircraft and sells hours on them through the Fleet Jet Card, or trip by trip as charter.

This guide compares how each is priced, what each guarantees, and how to put them side by side fairly. Wheels Up figures are what Wheels Up publishes on its own website, with the date we checked, unless they are labelled approximate.

Wheels Up overview

Wheels Up introduced Signature Membership in September 2025. You fund a prepaid deposit and pay a monthly fee, then pay for each flight on a Fixed plan (one rate for every trip) or a Dynamic plan (priced by season, day of week and destination). Signature centres on Wheels Up's Phenom 300 series (light) and Challenger 300 series (super-midsize) aircraft, with guaranteed access and recovery in the contiguous U.S. plus 225 miles, and global charter through Air Partner.

Wheels Up: what it publishes
ProgramSignature Membership (operator + marketplace)
CabinsPhenom 300 and Challenger 300 series; global charter through Air Partner
Entry price, as published$200,000 minimum deposit + monthly fee
Minimum$200,000 minimum prepaid deposit, plus a monthly fee
CalloutNot published
Peak daysDynamic plan prices by season, day and destination; a fixed-rate plan is also offered
How you pay$200,000 minimum prepaid deposit
From Wheels Up's own website, checked September 29, 2026. Terms change: confirm current terms with Wheels Up before you buy. Full Wheels Up review · Wheels Up on our provider index

Wheels Up fees

As published on Wheels Up's rate chart, checked September 29, 2026, fixed-plan rates at the minimum $200,000 fund are $9,295 an hour for the Phenom 300 and $13,495 an hour for the Challenger 300. At a $1,000,000 fund they are $8,695 and $12,695. The chart doesn't say whether tax or fuel is included, so ask. Dynamic-plan rates move with demand; Wheels Up's three-month averages after the fund discount were $9,088 (Phenom 300) and $10,576 (Challenger 300).

Earlier versions of this article described older Wheels Up tiers with initiation fees of about $3,000 to $30,000, annual dues of about $2,500 to $14,000 and hourly rates of about $5,000 to $12,000, as publicly reported in early 2026. Those figures are approximate and may no longer apply; confirm current terms with Wheels Up, including which memberships it sells.

The 7.5% federal excise tax applies to U.S. private flights, along with segment fees and any international fees for your itinerary.

Availability and access

Signature members get guaranteed access and recovery on Phenom 300 and Challenger 300 series aircraft within the contiguous U.S. plus 225 miles beyond the coastline. Wheels Up doesn't publish a callout or peak-day schedule on its Signature rate pages. Older reports described about 24 hours' notice, rising to about 120 hours on peak days; treat that as approximate and ask for the current schedule.

Who Wheels Up fits

Wheels Up suits U.S. flyers who want a choice between fixed and dynamic pricing, a light jet for short trips and a super-midsize for longer ones, and Delta Air Lines partnership benefits in one membership. See more in Wheels Up alternatives and our Wheels Up review.

CRAFT overview

CRAFT is a Part 135 operator of five Challenger 300 and 350 aircraft, ARGUS Platinum Rated and listed on the Wyvern registry, with Starlink on every aircraft, flown by CRAFT crews. We sell the Fleet Jet Card, prepaid blocks of 25, 50 or 100 hours at published rates, and charter on the same fleet. If a CRAFT Challenger is unavailable for a confirmed trip, we may arrange a comparable aircraft.

CRAFT is also the exclusive operator for the Glidepath Exchange Fund, whose members fly the CRAFT Challenger fleet. Investors contribute a concentrated stock position to the fund and diversify it without triggering a taxable event. Glidepath is offered by a separate company; CRAFT operates the flights. Read about Glidepath.

Rates, like for like

Wheels Up's Challenger 300 and CRAFT's Challenger 300 and 350 are both super-midsize, so that is the fair comparison. The table puts each on one basis, with fuel and the 7.5% FET:

Jet cards in the super-midsize class, per hour on one basis

  • CRAFT Fleet Jet Card(ours)

    As published
    $12,950/hr
    Fuel and FET included
    With fuel and FET
    $12,950/hr
    Published price; fuel and FET included
  • Wheels Up Signature Challenger 300

    As published
    $13,495/hr
    Fixed plan; tax and fuel not stated
    With fuel and FET
    $14,507/hrEst.
    Fuel not stated; none added; FET added at 7.5%; program doesn't state tax
EST. = the published price for 25 hours, plus a fuel surcharge of $300–$800/hr where a program adds one but doesn't publish it, plus 7.5% federal excise tax where the program adds tax or doesn't state it. Each company's rate is from its own website, checked September 29, 2026; CRAFT operates the Fleet Jet Card. Every class, like for like · CRAFT vs Wheels Up by route

The Wheels Up figures leave out its monthly fee; the CRAFT card has no membership fee. Wheels Up's Phenom 300 rate is a light jet rate, a different class, so it isn't in this table. To see both on real routes, open CRAFT vs Wheels Up by route, or Wheels Up's provider page.

Which is right for you?

There is rarely one right answer; it depends on how you fly.

Wheels Up tends to fit if you want light and super-midsize aircraft in one membership, dynamic pricing on flexible dates, global charter options or Delta benefits.

The CRAFT Fleet Jet Card tends to fit if you want the same Challenger type on every trip, rates published in advance with fuel and FET included, no membership fee, and you fly mainly on the East Coast, in Florida and to the Bahamas.

For every jet card that publishes its terms, see the best jet cards compared and the jet card providers we track. To price a single trip, try the charter cost calculator.

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between Wheels Up and CRAFT?

Wheels Up sells memberships: you fund a prepaid deposit, pay a monthly fee, and pay for each flight at fixed or dynamic rates on its Phenom 300 and Challenger 300 series aircraft, with global charter through partners. CRAFT is an operator of five Challenger 300 and 350 aircraft that sells the Fleet Jet Card, prepaid hours at published rates with fuel and FET included, and charter on the same fleet.

How do the costs of Wheels Up and CRAFT compare?

Compare them in the same cabin class on the same basis. Wheels Up publishes a Challenger 300 rate for its Signature Membership but its rate chart does not say whether tax or fuel is included; CRAFT's card rate includes fuel within an index band and FET. Our like-for-like table adds the 7.5% FET where a rate doesn't state it, so both sit on one basis. Wheels Up also charges a monthly membership fee; the CRAFT card has no membership fee.

Who is Wheels Up best suited for?

Wheels Up suits U.S. flyers who want a choice between fixed and dynamic pricing, both light and super-midsize aircraft, global charter options and Delta Air Lines partnership benefits in one membership.

Who is the CRAFT Fleet Jet Card best suited for?

Flyers who want a guaranteed super-midsize Challenger, mainly on the East Coast, in Florida and to the Bahamas, 25 to 100 hours a year, booked with the operator. If a CRAFT Challenger is unavailable for a confirmed trip, we may arrange a comparable aircraft.

Are there additional fees with Wheels Up or CRAFT?

Both have terms that change the total. With Wheels Up, ask whether the hourly rate includes tax and fuel, and what the monthly fee is. With CRAFT, the card rate includes fuel within the index band and 7.5% FET on domestic legs; segment tax, international taxes and handling, peak days and shorter callouts are extra, and the full list is on the card terms.

How quickly can you book with Wheels Up and CRAFT?

Wheels Up does not publish a callout on its Signature rate pages; ask for the current schedule. The CRAFT card books at the base rate with five days' notice, or at 72 or 48 hours for a fee; trips inside 48 hours fly as available.

Charter Sales

Tell us the trip. We'll tell you the number.

Route, dates, rough timing, how many people. That is enough to start, and you get a firm price for that specific trip rather than a range.

Text us and you'll get a reply within 60 seconds, any hour.